

# La Voz de **Esperanza**

June 2025 Vol. 38 Issue 5

Editor: Gloria A. Ramírez Design: Elizandro Carrington Cover Art: Mary Agnes Rodríguez

#### Contributors

Richard Aguilar, Salem Alaydi, Tarcisio Beal, Susan M. Guerra, Jake Johnson (Common Dreams), Dr. Cynthia E. Orozco, Patrizia Rossi Ortiz

## **Esperanza Director**

Graciela I. Sánchez

### **Esperanza Staff**

Sherry Campos, Arabella Chavez, Elizandro Carrington, Kayla Miranda, Nonye Okoye, René Saenz, Imane Saliba, Susana Segura, Rosa Vega

# Conjunto de Nepantleras —Esperanza Board of Directors—

Rachel Jennings, Dennise Frausto, Amy Kastely, Sylvia Mendoza, Ana Lucía Ramírez, Gloria A. Ramírez, Rudy Rosales, Lilliana Saldaña, Nadine Saliba, Graciela I. Sánchez

- We advocate for a wide variety of social, economic & environmental justice issues.
- Opinions expressed in La Voz are not necessarily those of the Esperanza Center.

## La Voz de Esperanza

Esperanza Peace & Justice Center 922 San Pedro, San Antonio, TX 78212 210.228.0201 • www.esperanzacenter.org

Inquiries/Articles can be sent to: lavoz@esperanzacenter.org Articles due by the 8th of each month

### **Policy Statements**

- \* We ask that articles be visionary, progressive, instructive & thoughtful. Submissions must be literate & critical; not sexist, racist, homophobic, violent, or oppressive & may be edited for length.
- \* All letters in response to Esperanza activities or articles in La Voz will be considered for publication. Letters with intent to slander individuals or groups will not be published.

## SA Run-off Elections set for June 7, 2025

Voting for SA Mayor and 4 City Council Members

After a historically low voter turnout, we are now headed to an election on June 7th in San Antonio that will decide who our next mayor is. In spite of the fact that four longtime council members were among the candidates for mayor, they came up short and the finalists for the mayor's race will feature two "outsiders"—which is to say that both candidates will be new to San Antonio city politics. That in itself MAY be a good thing, or not?



Of the 27 candidates that ran for mayor in the May 3rd election, none got close to the 50% plus votes needed to win. Gina Ortiz Jones with 27% and Rolando Pablos with 15% were the top vote getters and will be in the run-off on June 7th for Mayor of San Antonio. Turn-out for the May election failed to reach 10% of San Antonio voters, even though an 8-day early voting window afforded folks plenty of lead time to vote.

The run-offs for Mayor and City Council will also offer lead time for early voting which begins Tuesday, May 27, and runs through Tuesday, June 3. Voting times will differ from weekdays to weekends as follows:

May 27, Tuesday to Friday, May 30 vote daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

May 31, Saturday, vote from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. \*\*

June 1st, Sunday vote from Noon to 6 p.m.\*\*

June 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup>, Monday & Tuesday vote from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

\*\* Branch location not open

In addition to the Mayor's race, there will be four City Council seats up for grabs in the June 7th runoff: In **District 1**, Sukh Kaur, the incumbent, was short of the 50% plus needed to win with 48.91% of the vote and will be running against Patty Gibbons. District 6 heads to a run off between Kelly Ann González and Ric Galvan. District 8 run-off candidates are Paula McGee and Ivalis Meza González. And, in District 9, candidates in the run-off include Angi Taylor Aramburu and Misty Spears.

During early voting, a voter may vote at any location designated as an early voting location. The Main Early Voting Location is the Bexar County Elections Department at 1103 S. Frio (210-335-8683). To look up voting sites go to: bit.ly/ polling-bexar and remember to bring your I.D. to vote. For a list of acceptable forms of I.D. to vote go to: bit.ly/texas-voter-id

Voting sites will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Saturday June 7th, 2025—Election Day if you did not vote early. Voting now at the local level impacts future elections at the State and National level. Let's make every effort to get out the vote! Numbers matter!

— Gloria A. Ramírez, editor of La Voz de Esperanza

ATTENTION VOZ READERS: If you have a mailing address correction please send it to lavoz@ esperanzacenter.org. If you want to be removed from the La Voz mailing list, for whatever reason, please let us know. La Voz is provided as a courtesy to people on the mailing list of the Esperanza Peace and Justice Center. The subscription rate is \$35 per year (\$100 for institutions). The cost of producing and mailing La Voz has substantially increased and we need your help to keep it afloat. To help, send in your subscriptions, sign up as a monthly donor, or send in a donation to the Esperanza Peace and Justice Center. Thank you. -GAR

VOZ VISION STATEMENT: La Voz de Esperanza speaks for many individual, progressive voices who are gente-based, multi-visioned and milagro-bound. We are diverse survivors of materialism, racism, misogyny, homophobia, classism, violence, earth-damage, speciesism and cultural and political oppression. We are recapturing the powers of alliance, activism and healthy conflict in order to achieve interdependent economic/ spiritual healing and fuerza. La Voz is a resource for peace, justice, and human rights, providing a forum for criticism, information, education, humor and other creative works. La Voz provokes bold actions in response to local and global problems, with the knowledge that the many risks we take for the earth, our body, and the dignity of all people will result in profound change for the seven generations to come.